Black Swamp Wallaby

Your distinguished grey muzzle
Lifting, brings your brown eyes
To gaze upon me,
Watching in case I move towards you.

But I wait still, and your exquisite stillness
Quiets my breath, until we meet
In our hearts and I feel
Your warm brown coat,
Plump teardrop shape,
Delicate paws holding the grape vine
On which you were browsing.

Wise black wallaby,
Honoured matriarch,
You teach me how to be present,
Alert and relaxed at once,
Contained and contented
With everything
Exactly as it is.

One thought on “Black Swamp Wallaby

let's chat about this ...

