Evening along the Seine

We started walking about 8:30pm, crossing Pont Sully to Isle St Louis then onto the south bank where people gather on summer evenings.

Beautiful summer weather had enticed people out to the open spaces, the river bank, parks and playgrounds.

In these semicircular places some people danced, all styles! Others just picnicked and chatted with their friends.

This interesting railway viaduct carries trains across the river to Gare Austerlitz ….

which is quite close to Gare de Lyon on the opposite bank …. here with its clock tower visible.

Golden sunlight illuminates the Biblioteque National de France …. with quayside restaurants and a swimming pool in the foreground.

This enormous river cruiser was heading east with smaller boats …

but we crossed the river and turned back here … looking across to a new development aimed at regenerating this section of the city.

Another view of the viaduct …

then the sky turned pink, with the towers of Notre Dame sillouetted against the clouds ….

eventually the Eiffel Tower appeared on the skyline, soft in the late evening light …

the sun had disappeared behind the city buildings, dusk falling gently on this long summer evening,

and we were back at Isle St Louis, watching one last pleasure boat cruise along the Seine before we turned for home ourselves. This time tomorrow we will be in the air on our long flight home!

35 thoughts on “Evening along the Seine

    • oh yes, mine too Sue, lucky our son lives right there on the banks of the river … we once took a river cruise too, it was fun, but usually we walk 🙂

  1. Oh no … already? From our evening walk it seems such a lot has changed in Paris since I was last there – how will we manage to see it all in less than a day? 🙂 I was amazed at how grateful I was when we turned back, looking toward Notre Dame and the city I know! How beautiful the sunset and twilight was. 🙂

    • I was amazed this time to see so much building activity, and restoration work in both Paris and London, they do change all the time I guess, but we get attached to those graceful old parts we love don’t we?

      • Yes,I suppose we do get attached, don’t we? Since I saw your pictures of London I’ve been wondering why I was so shocked by the changes I saw there. After all, I’ve been seeing glimpses of the changing face of London (through movies, TV, magazines, etc.) since I was last there, so I shouldn’t have been surprised. But Paris? I’d heard nothing, seen nothing, and while it’s been almost 40 years since I was last in London, it’s only a decade or so since I last ‘lived’ in the Morais, taken the Metro out to the organic market at the Bois de Bologne, shopped for bras in Les Galeries Lafeyette … And I think that’s the clue – it’s got to do with ego. I can no longer place myself in this new London, a modern Paris … It’s quite confronting. 🙂

        • oh dear, we are getting older aren’t we Meredith …. we ‘like’ some things to stay the same as they were when we were in our prime … I remember noticing this in parents and in-laws years ago … and now in myself!

  2. Wonderful photos. They remind me of one of my favourite movies “Before Sunrise” (1995), with Julie Delphy & Ethan Hawke which is sort of romantic… thinking of you and Stuart wandering along enjoying on your final hours in Paris 🙂

  3. Thankyou, I’ve enjoyed revisiting Paris with you. I hope you’ve taken home as many beautiful memories as I hold from this wonderful place. 🙂

    • it is a wonderful city isn’t it Sallyann? We have beautiful memories of our many visits, and new ones form each time we are there, so much to enjoy even without spending any money!

  4. A wonderful farewell to a holiday I’ve enjoyed so much alongside you. The fading into twilight is a good metaphor for end of journey.

    I’m envious of evenings out and about – I’ve been crook for four or five days, condemned to watching the light on the terra cotta walls opposite, tree shadows and half a tree. No substitute for the banks of the Seine or the Wisła! Safe journey, and I’ll be looking forward to a home fix, as you reacquaint yourself with Bingie.

    • It was a great walk, strolling along with Casey chatting, but I had a sore throat caught from the baby … so will dose up well today before getting on the plane tonight … hope you get well soon and we will keep in touch blogwise!

  5. A wonderful evening walk with perfect weather. What a great trip you’ve had, full of new treasure for the memory bank and photos to share with us. Have a safe journey home and get lots of rest while you catch up with Dadirri, thank you dear Christine, I had a lovely time sharing your travels 🙂

    • the weather has been so kind, even in England 🙂 we are expecting temperatures of 9 – 14 at home, a sudden cold snap, but only like an English summer!

  6. Whoo! A pink image of Notre Dame, like that, is what I’m hoping for , Christine. You’ll be exhausted when you get home, I expect. Safe journey! Thanks for all the lovely shares. 🙂

    • our son wanted to show us things further east than we had previously been, it was interesting and picturesque, plus we had a good long walk in preparation for all that aeroplane sitting 😉

  7. that must have been an incredible stroll! The photos are just gorgeous, and to know that it was your last time–last time for now–to be in Paris, I can imagine the thoughts and what you’d be saying to each other. I hope you’re still basking in that beautiful glow, at home and resting up from so much vacation. 🙂

let's chat about this ...