Grey Rocks Afternoon

Bingie Beach from Grey Rocks

Bingie Beach from Grey Rocks

The sun was swiftly dropping behind the casuarina bushland as I walked out to Grey Rocks yesterday. There is so much going on I really needed to spend a while with nature. You can see my beloved mountain at the top right, with smoke from hazard reduction burns in the sky from the west. The sea was roaring, that marvellous sound like a train approaching!

Grey Rocks

Grey Rocks

A southerly wind blew against the rocks, spraying saltwater over everything, including me and the camera. Icy fingers reaching into nooks and crannies, reminding me that winter is not far away now. I stood and watched, marvelling at each huge spray thrown up by those roaring waves.

Grey Rocks looking north

Grey Rocks looking north

Sea spray clouded the air, creating a mysterious atmosphere illuminated by the lowering sun. Water rushed up the beaches, leaving no room for walkers, it was display of power and authority by the ocean … don’t come too close!

 

looking to Mullimburra

looking to Mullimburra

Fish and dolphins are at home in there, riding the currents and swells. Dolphins surf in the waves, fish dart around the interface between sea and shore, feeding on sea lettuce, crustaceans, small creatures such as fish fry or eggs. We love to watch fish in the waves, illuminated at times by sunshine as they are lifted up, almost transparent as if lit by a fish tank light, then disappearing into the depths again. Dolphins surf for fun, playing in between hunting activities.

I retreated, back along the track to the carpark. Ten years ago when National Parks acquired this land it was bare and ugly, eroded by vehicle tracks where fishermen drove right onto the great rocks, so they could watch for schools of fish. After a lot of effort and expense Grey Rocks headland has been rehabilitated so that most of the ground has plant cover once again.

wind sculpted shrubbery

rehabilitated wind-sculpted shrubbery

I was loving the late afternoon sunshine, so I went around to our beach, to see how far up the waves were coming. The whole beach has been reshaped in the past week, hundreds of tonnes of sand shifted about, creating a steep bank where there was once a smooth shingle. There was nothing exciting to see, but the low sun angle made photography tempting!

Despite the change in location the sea still roared, but the swell was smaller, having had to come in around Mullimburra Point. It made a thrilling sound as it whooshed in over the shelly bottom around the rock pools.

our beach, distant smoke

our beach, distant smoke

I don’t know about you, but I felt quite a lot calmer and more spacious as I returned home after visiting my good friend the sea.

20 thoughts on “Grey Rocks Afternoon

  1. Simply wonderful, Christine ! – I feel as if I’ve just been there and come back. How I love the eastern coastline with its rocks and shells and pools and seaweed and all that superb SEA STUFF !!!

    • where are you M-R? I love our coastline too, although we lived near Berowra Waters for 26 years … far from the waves!

      On Fri, May 9, 2014 at 5:24 PM, dadirridreaming wrote:

      >

      • In Pyrmont, would you believe ? But Chic and I lived on Dangar Island for 8 years, so Berowra is well-known to me (it’s probably unrecognizable by now) …

        • you had the best of Berowra Waters living there! We were at Arcadia, but still enjoyed many great times on the water, even went to the Berowra Waters Inn a few times when Gay Bilson was there … she served a very pongy goat’s cheese just like the one’s S had made and thrown out as inedible! That was an education ๐Ÿ˜‰

          On Fri, May 9, 2014 at 5:29 PM, dadirridreaming wrote:

          >

  2. Have been living in the Maritimes for five years now, but it took a signboard at the Oregon Aquarium (on the other side of the continent) to teach me that coastal beaches change their looks annually, getting shortened up as you describe in the fall and filling out again in the spring. There’s so much to learn, isn’t there?

  3. I just love these pics Christine, you’re so lucky to live by the sea. I love the colours in the rocks and the wonderful movement in the waves. Fabulous!

  4. I enjoyed my visit to the sea. I listened intently for the crashing sounds of the waves, one of my very favorite sounds which confirms the wondrous PRESENCE all around us. And I loved the feel of the misty sea spray upon my face with its salty welcome to come hither. A marvelous treat to my morning inland.

  5. Rehabilitated in just ten years! That’s impressive, and what a positive direction. The photos are absolutely gorgeous, and yes, just to look at them sends me on a little break of a vacation! ๐Ÿ™‚

let's chat about this ...

