Bermagui

Bermie is picturesque small town on the NSW south coast. It features in novels and films, and has an undoubtedly arty community. I had to visit a few days ago to use an ATM where I could change my pin number on some new cards before our trip. All the new ATMs of the kind I use belong to a banking group, rather than credit unions, and do not have the pin change facility for my cards. However this one at Bermagui belongs to a credit union, so it all worked for me there.

graceful town centre

graceful town centre

Bermie is famous for deep sea fishing, and has a huge Fisherman’s Co-Operative. Most of the fish caught locally goes up to Sydney or down to Melbourne and is sold through the big fish markets there. I walked out on the point overlooking the town and the sea, to capture this photo of Gulaga, sacred women’s mountain. Usually I see her from the north, so to have this view from the south is quite special for me.

Mount Gulaga, Tilba

Mount Gulaga, Tilba

Peewees and Masked Lapwing were also enjoying the warm sunshine and grubs in the mown grass.

PeeWee or Magpie Lark

PeeWee or Magpie Lark

There were a pair of Peewees hunting together, but too fast for me! Lucky I have this one to show you. The Masked Lapwing on the other hand are a photographer’s delight. They stand very still, watching and listening for their prey, and they are not particularly disturbed by people.  These are the ‘silly’ birds I first knew from their habit of nesting in the centre of roundabouts or on footpaths in the city!

Masked Lapwing or Spurwinged Plover

Masked Lapwing or Spurwinged Plover

I was conscious of having to meet my friend for an early lunch,so did not spend time here, and was just about to leave when this young Sea Eagle flew over.

juvenile Sea Eagle

juvenile Sea Eagle

Sunlight sparkled on the sea, which was calm and inviting, a typical autumn day here on the South Coast.
IMG_2203Leaving town I had to stop again at the marina, where I could see pelicans sitting on the piers. Boats always look attractive to me, especially with water and sunshine!

Bermagui marina

Bermagui marina

A group of Wood Ducks were sun-baking, scarcely noticing me as I slipped by.

Australian Wood Ducks, or Maned Geese

Australian Wood Ducks, or Maned Geese

and then there were the pelicans, one of which I posted yesterday. Perhaps they had breakfasted early with the fishermen?

Pelican at Bermagui

Pelican at Bermagui

One last peek at those Wood Ducks … and I was off to lunch.

sleeping in the sun

sleeping in the sun

I hope you can find somewhere warm to enjoy a restful moment today!

27 thoughts on “Bermagui

  1. Thank you for your perspective on Bermagui. The shots down over the village and out to Gulaga make it very clear why there’s strong opposition to the opening of a Woolworths with all its attendant sub structure and spoilage. I share your liking for images of boats, which always seem to create amazingly clear reflections and a sense of serenity. And as always I’m in awe of your photographic relationship with birds!

    • I think that dreaded development might have been decided this week … it seems next to impossible to keep these monsters out of our towns … the No M in Moruya campaign has been a big success but we can never rest on our laurels 🙂

  2. Gorgeous spot, Bermie … Fabulous shot of the young sea eagle !!! As for them duckywuckies … Do you know, Darling Harbour’s landfill part used to contain a large-ish pond that was supplied with those ‘kick-drive your own little boat’ thinggies, only used on the weekends, really, and mostly all moored up one end. The rest of it was home to fly-through ducks ! I adored them, and would stop on my walk in to work to talk to them, twice every day. I particularly loved the one solitary brown-headed one, which I soon identified as a wood duck (via the Web, of course). None of it exists any more: it’s been filled in and there’s now a HUGE Commonwealth Bank building complex all over that part of DH. And we were told that it would be for us, the people …

      • I’m so excited for you … Travelling vicariously is quite interesting. I wonder how Madhu’s getting on in
        Venice? And John takes off for Rome, Florence and San Marino next week … so much sitting around, drinking coffee, watching the world I’m about to indulge in 🙂

  3. I have to say that I am really impressed with your ability to document a place well while on business! I recently got into birds and you do a great job identifying them for me. Thanks!

  4. Loved the bird pictures and the views of that picturesque town! Your pelicans are whitish, while ours are brownish. It fascinating how they adapt to where they live. Needless to say the young sea eagle struck a chord 🙂

  5. The photos are really gorgeous and I can tell that Bermagui is very special. A sea eagle? What an interesting bird. All of “your” birds are interesting in their beauty and individuality, but the sea eagle and those beautiful wings! Whoa!

    • this is a young one Debra, hence the ‘dirty’ appearance of the feathers which are not yet white … they are magnificent birds 🙂

      On Fri, May 9, 2014 at 3:47 PM, dadirridreaming wrote:

      >

let's chat about this ...

