Fungi Festivities

I admit to being obsessive, sometimes! Today was another fabulous fungi day, with a few new discoveries and some identifications. After walking through the forest adjacent to Coila Lake (on the Bingie side) I was really tired … S kept on finding new fungi, but I had to plead … “only show me something spectacular”…  I felt as though my hard drive was full.

Russula persanguinea

Russula persanguinea

Can you imagine how they push up through the soil? Most fungi we found today had sand, grass, or leaf litter encrusting them. I scraped away what I could, to reveal the fruiting body more fully.

Rusulla rosea

Russula rosea

Maybe this one is tasty? We are not collecting any to eat! We walked in the sandy forest for several hours, totally entranced by all that was being revealed. It was the best adventure you can imagine, watching mother nature show herself.

Botellus ananiceps

Botellus ananiceps

Isn’t this hairy webcap spectacular? It is just as interesting on the underside …

Botellus ananiceps

Botellus ananiceps

Some were large and imposing, others very tiny and hard to see. I am showing you some of the bigger ones in this blog. But here is small one, a delicate white coral fungus. It was hidden in thick foliage and leaf litter at the base of a giant eucalypt.

Clavaria alboglobospora

Clavaria alboglobospora

The boletes fascinated me the most today. They are fungi like the Hairy Webcap above, and it seems they are difficult to identify. Perhaps some that we saw are even ‘new’ discoveries?

unknown bolete

unknown bolete

This one has a rough scaly red cap, and vivid yellow pores. Another that was quite common in the forest was phallus-like, and did not appear to ‘open’ until eventually we found a more mature one that was open, again revealing vivid yellow pores.

unknown bolete

unknown bolete

Just one more of these beauties today … do they fascinate you too?

Boletus barragensis

Boletus barragensis

Who knew fungi used such wonderful colours? Did you know that land fungi evolved about 1,300 million years ago and had a crucial role in preparing the planet for life as we know it today. Fungi play a major part in controlling carbon too … since the majority of plants team up with fungi, exchanging plant carbon for soil nutrients supplied by the fungus. Fungi are our major recyclers, creating soil from plant waste … in fact after a little thought it becomes obvious we could not live on Earth without them.

 

There are many more to share … so come back if you are interested!

 

21 thoughts on “Fungi Festivities

  1. What a trove. And you with exhibition fatigue! You’ve found such interesting gills and colours. I always feel blessed if I catch them pushing up casuarina needles or dirt. I really must explore that side of the lake – maybe sail across and picnic.

    Many that I saw this morning on a headland not too far south of you had been nibbled or toppled. Again, different species. Our explorations really demonstrate the way ecosystems work.

  2. Your photo of Clavaria alboglobospora remind me of the Enoki mushrooms I like using in my stir fries! Do keep us involved with your fungi walks. I’m loving them.

  3. Lovely photos. We were also talking about “wild” mushrooms today. It is as if they are later than usual. I think it could be because it was still warm and dry till a few days back. Maybe they will show their beauty after the rainy weather is gone.

  4. I am amazed at the numbers of different types of fungi. Perhaps I should photograph the ones on my lawn to show you. Now that I realise they are recyclers I feel more friendly towards them.

  5. These are beautiful. I get obsessive about fungi, too. It’s fascinating. I read something recently about how they can push their way through sidewalks. Amazing.

  6. Absolutely fascinating Christine, colours, shapes and the information you supplied. In the early days of establishing my garden I used to use mushroom compost and some times got the odd mushroom popping up

  7. The weather/season has certainly brought the fungi out. There’s an abundance, if not quite so much variety in Sydney Park as well. I’m hoping maybe for plain old-fashioned edible field mushrooms when we are at Taylors Arm on the weekend.
    I love to eat mushrooms and do most days but I took fungi somewhat for granted until I read Michael Pollan’s The Ominvore’s Dilemma, where he sheds a whole different light in their significance… “the talent of fungi for decomposing and recycling organic matter is what make them indispensible, not only to trees but to all life on earth. Without fungi to break things down, the earth would long ago have suffocated beneath a blanket of organic matter created by plants; the dead would pile up without end, the carbon cycle would cease to function, and living things would run out of things to eat”.

  8. Fascinating mushrooms. I once was lucky enough to get a private forest walk with a mushroom connoisseur (in my own back woods) and we found close to 90 different kinds of mushrooms. Most of them, I would have never really noticed on my own. Now I start to look for them and see them more and they are everywhere….

  9. The Boletes are really cool! When you look closely, there are so MANY shapes and colors to see – the unknown one with the reddish cap and yellow pores is fantastic.Happy hunting!

let's chat about this ...

