Mushroom Madness

After a wet and warm month, we are in mushroom heaven … or more exactly fungi heaven here. I am hurrying to get around and photograph as many as I can! Here are a few specials, but please look forward to more as there are quite a few to share.

Barometer Earthstar (Astraeus hygrometricus)

Earthstar (Geastrum triplex)

The first time I have found an Earthstar! It was on the Bingie Dreaming Track, near Grey Rocks. This bright yellow coral fungus below is growing near remnant forest in Bingie, under a conservation order to protect it and all its diversity.

Salmon Coral Fungus (Ramaria ochraceosalmonicolor)

Salmon Coral Fungus (Ramaria ochraceosalmonicolor) ((possibly))

Identifying fungi is enormously complicated, so I have to admit I am not trying very hard because I would like to share them with you now, rather than in months to come!

aren't they lovely?

aren’t they lovely?

Sadly there are too many possibilities for these beautiful agarics … perhaps in time I will identify them. They are forming a picturesque cluster on Bingie Road close to the fireshed near tall eucalypt forest.

red-brown bolete mushroom, red-brown underneath

red-brown bolete mushroom, red-brown underneath

These beauties are growing near the tall forest too. There is a wonderful purple one rather like this … here it is …

Just one more normal looking fungi to finish with …

a big white mushroom emerging beside Mullimburra Point Road

a big white mushroom emerging beside Mullimburra Point Road

Now I am back to poring through the books to see if I can put names to any of my discoveries! I hope you are enjoying your weekend and doing something exciting too …

17 thoughts on “Mushroom Madness

  1. Once again sincere thanks for sharing your piece of nature with your readers. The Barometer Earthstar and the Salmon coral fungus are most interesting. and I have you to blame now for spending more time researching further information on your beauties. What marvellous rambling walks you take us on! Thanks!

    p.s. I can “feel” a post card or two coming on 😉

  2. WOW! These are wonderful, Christine.

    BTW, when we meet up in June, I must take you to Atarazanas market to look at the wild mushroom stall (if they have them then!!)

  3. I wonder if any are edible too, I’m sure that you or S will find out and try any that are! Your pics are lovely, I like the earthstar best of all, how lucky t see it 🙂

  4. I didn’t know there are so many various mushrooms, and they look so different. Beautiful! Thank you for taking us to nature, Christine!

  5. Our mushroom season is in the autumn, and then we have lots of strange ones and edible ones. The top one in your post looks like it’s made of shortbread! Lovely!

  6. I always like the ones that resemble freshly made pancakes, evenly browned and still puffy… to look at, I mean…

let's chat about this ...

