Threes

This week we have been challenged to tell a story in three images. I guess we all do this without really thinking of it so explicitly, for I found possible stories all through my image library. I chose three lots of three to share with you, but I am not sure if any of them really follow the suggested guidelines of a broad shot, a relationships between two elements and finally a detail. Β Firstly young people playing about in Place St Sulpice, Paris.

Then a medieval city, Perigueux, and one of the harmonious old buildings in the town centre.

Finally Monet’s garden in Giverney, outside Paris….. the story of walking through the garden to the artist’s home.

Which of these do you think works best? Threes has been an interesting challenge, do visitΒ http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/02/21/weekly-photo-challenge-threes/Β to get the whole story!

43 thoughts on “Threes

  1. What a great set of threes times three, and I think your right we instinctively take shots with both distance and detail….the ones I sometimes miss are the relational shots, but you caught some lovely ones….especially those fun filled teens πŸ™‚

  2. The lone individual lounging at the foot of the column is in a position to observe the monkey-shining trio without being noticed by them. Sounds like a story to me!

  3. I think Perigueux is my favourite – that wonderful textured wall – but the bollard balancers are delightful.

    I’ve taken my time responding to this post because the parameters of the challenge are in fact very challenging. Relationship between two elements is especially food for thought. I can’t imagine how I might meet the challenge from my collection of many thousands of photos: I tend to operate by themes rather than narrative. I’m always two jumps behind: now I’ll be looking for narrative sequences in all my photo-prowls!

    • it is all fun isn’t it? this time next week our Parisians arrive … after that we must plan a get together!

      On Tue, Feb 25, 2014 at 11:49 AM, dadirridreaming wrote:

      >

  4. Nice photos all round, Christine, and I am sure all work for the challenge. For my tastes and interpretation, though, I think I like the second round best. I think the building in Perigeux, with the windows in two different interpretations, is just great! πŸ™‚

  5. all three are great, Christine. each one is unique in its own way. the one with the teenagers is fun, yet the garden is delightful, too. probably my favourite image is the window close-up. if that window could speak, what stories we would hear. who has looked out? who has looked in? what conversations have been exchanged?

let's chat about this ...

