Tagged G: Gardening

On our way south to Green Cape a few weeks ago we stopped near Bermagui to visit a friend. He lives there part-time, in a gracious mud-brick house designed by Stuart many years ago. The place was looking wonderful, and he told us he has a gardener two days a week to look after things while he is away in Sydney.IMG_0230

His latest interest is dahlias! They are safely caged to keep the possums and other hungry bush creatures at bay.Β IMG_0238

John and his gardener planted them underneath tall gum trees, and close to a dam from which they are irrigated. Surprising where dahlias can grow!IMG_0233

Of course I was fascinated, trailing behind with my camera as John continued to show us around the property. We have never grown dahlias as Stuart is or was allergic to them, but I have always thought they were a rather marvellous flower, looking like starbursts of colour.IMG_0235

This is just the beginning of his collection, so I am determined to return next year and see how it has grown. I did wonder how John could enjoy his flowers, when he was based primarily in Sydney, but he has all this worked out, as you will see.IMG_0229Last stop on our tour was the new shed, built large enough for boat construction. It looked rather grand, but inside there was no boat, just a bucket of dahlias, ready for the trip back to Sydney.IMG_0241

Here he is, adding a few more to the bucket, for his enjoyment over the next fortnight. So even gardening in absentia has its pleasures. This post is for Frizztext’s Tagged GΒ so pop across and check out the other wonderful G entries this week.

Everything that slows us down and forces patience, everything that sets us back into the slow circles of nature, is a help. Gardening is an instrument of grace. May Sarton, thanks to brainyquote πŸ™‚

 

48 thoughts on “Tagged G: Gardening

  1. Tagged G for Gorgeous also. I love the individual pics of the dahlia’s but amassed you don’t even notice they are in a bucket – scene stealers. Such wonderful classic flowers never go out of style – the colours I think πŸ™‚

    • I thought of gorgeous but I was sure someone would have beaten me to it … and they had! Luckily the idea of gardening crept upon me and out came the dahlias πŸ˜€ They do have fabulous colours, and they are big and showy!

  2. G for gorgeous, indeed, Christine! They really are fabulous flowers, aren’t they, though I’m a little uncomfortable about the idea of gardening where things have to be caged to protect them from the natural environment. πŸ™‚

  3. “Everything that slows us down
    and forces patience,
    everything that sets us back
    into the slow circles of nature,
    is a help…”
    I learned this by my cat
    (how she is strolling
    through the garden daily).

    • don’t think he will … he supplied me with two laptops long long ago before I went to Macs but he does not seem very connected now … it was real joy to catch up with him again after a long absence during which his wife was very unwell … and he was caring for her, he is a sweetie πŸ™‚

  4. Such beautiful flowers. I admire dahlias in our neigbourhood but don’t grow them in my garden; not enough space. As you say they trigger allergies, it’s just as well I have no room for them. Do you have posts on your blog on Stuart’s house designs. The mud brick house sounds so fascinating.

  5. Lovely dahlias! I love that flower, especially the one calle pompom here in Sweden. I do not grow them myself though. The winter quarters indoors are too troublesome.

  6. The dahlias are quite luminous. You have made me see the dahlia anew. I’ve always before thought that they were show-offs, but you’ve captured a quietness. My grandfather used to show dahlias – and chooks – at the Royal Easter Show in Sydney when I was, long ago, a child.

    • such an interesting comment Meg, those dahlias were both, a noisy party as a whole, and yet each one quiet and self-contained when approached individually, some shy, peeping out of the foliage … what an accomplished grandfather to show his flowers and chooks, you must have been proud of him πŸ™‚

let's chat about this ...

