Lotus Afternoon

In the late afternoon we sat watching the lotus. A cool breeze took the edge off a hot day, but the water was still. How perfectly this leaf was rolled. We rolled our scattered thoughts together.

rolled

rolled

Nearby another leaf had begun to open, spreading itself gently across the surface. Finding support. Taking time.

unfurling

unfurling

Fluted edges rippling gracefully on the water, droplets glistening.

buds

buds

Radiating patterns, undulating curves, pink teardrop buds.

full blown

full blown

Fully open, stamens surrounding the central pod like a dancer’s tutu, held in the pink and white chalice of the bloom.

pods and blooms

pods and blooms

Dancing in the afternoon light, pods and flowers together, celebrating the lowering sun, turning their heads to whisper sweet secrets to each other.  We bow, united, our dance concluding with the sunset.

The Lotus

On the day when the lotus bloomed, alas, my mind was straying, 
and I knew it not. My basket was empty and the flower remained unheeded. 

Only now and again a sadness fell upon me, and I started up from my 
dream and felt a sweet trace of a strange fragrance in the south wind. 

That vague sweetness made my heart ache with longing and it seemed to me that is was the eager breath of the summer seeking for its completion. 

I knew not then that it was so near, that it was mine, and that this 
perfect sweetness had blossomed in the depth of my own heart. 

Rabindranath Tagore

 

 

 

 

49 thoughts on “Lotus Afternoon

  1. Beautiful and soothing. Photos so lovely in colours soft, and I must admit I didn’t know about the leaves spreading out from rolls like these. You have caught a moment of moving stillness.

    • there was a small dam full of tall white lotus near us years ago, they were so striking that I wanted to grow them straight away … however it took until 2001 when we planted a red lotus in this dam … it is particularly happy and prolific this year 🙂

  2. They really are a feast for the eyes! A monk once taught me that one reason lotus are sacred is because the stages of bud, open flower, and seed pod can all be seen at the same time. I can see what 2far2shout means.

  3. Reblogged this on Napkinwriter and commented:
    WE KNOW WHAT WE DON’t KNOW. This was posted by Christine Jan. 31, 2014 …she knew not then that her passing on July 2 was foreshadowed in these Tagore poetry lines she chose: ” I knew not then that it was so near, that it was mine, and that this
    perfect sweetness had blossomed in the depth of my own heart.” The sweet lotus was her favorite flower and her photographs reflect this. Christine, a flower of perfect sweetness.

let's chat about this ...

