WPC: Habit

What an interesting challenge! Habit. I admit to being a little uncomfortable revealing that I am scrabble player … indeed for about three years or longer I have been playing online with my scrabble friends. Some are newer, but several have been around all the time, and we have gotten to know each other through the ups and downs of life. We know about each others new grandchildren, and holidays, and life events. One woman who I still play with met me online the day after her husband died. At present I am also playing with a very funny man from Chicago, and a younger man from who knows where, but mostly I find myself playing with women.

There was a big furore earlier this year when FB scrabble changed from the old format which we all knew and loved. I was tempted to drop out in protest as other did, but I could not leave my old friends, so I had to learn the new way. It is still an unfriendly format by comparison, but I am used to it now. It is much more difficult to chat with each other, and there are many other drawbacks, but it does work on other devices, such as my iPad … which may be a good or a bad thing! If you also have a scrabble habit let me know!

 

23 thoughts on “WPC: Habit

  1. non ho mai partecipato a questo, n ad altri giochi on line, il tempo libero lo dedico al blog, a leggere e a qualche complicato gioco di egnimistica, ma sento che ti ha preso molto, quindi penso debba essere interessante πŸ™‚
    I’ve never participated in this, nor to other online games, leisure is dedicated to blog, to read and some complicated egnimistica game, but I feel that I got you a lot, so I think it should be interesting

  2. I gave fb scrabble a try a few years ago but I’m not really a game person. I think its a good stress reliever for some and anything that gets you chatting to people around the world is perfect in my mind πŸ™‚

  3. What a nice habit! Some day I’d love to make time for this. I do love the game…but only play with family around the dining room table. πŸ™‚ As habits go, Christine, this is a good one, I’m quite sure.

  4. I love Scrabble, any word games, but have spend enough time online as it is. Last year the G.O. bought me an original old Scrabble game for Christmas… I just need to get him to play, or for Mrs S. to visit πŸ™‚

  5. The internet is amazing how it has broadened all our horizons. Your scrabble habit is a great way to connect with others all round the world the same way that blogging does. I have to admit that blogging is another of my habits.

    • Hi Madhu … having no internet helped me get unaddicted … and now we are off to Lord Howe Island which is famously unconnected … no phones there … but there is internet at the Visitor Centre, where I hope to send a few posts πŸ™‚

let's chat about this ...

