Multicoloured

I do love bright colours and rainbows. Ailsa asked for Multicoloured shots in her challenge this week. Here are some I found in the photo library, while restricting myself solely to the travel albums.

North Rose Window, Chartres Cathedral

North Rose Window, Chartres Cathedral

In the very centre of the window the Virgin Mary holds the baby JesusΒ  She is surrounded immediately by doves and angels, then by prophets, then by fleur-de-lis. Β The lily was for centuries a symbol used to indicate purity and the deep colour blue is the colour of the Mary and also a symbol for purity. This is just a glimpse of the centre of this magnificent window, to learn more check out this blog.

lanterns in Chinatown, Singapore

lanterns in Chinatown, Singapore

Singapore is very colourful, especially Chinatown!

capsicums at a French market stall

capsicums at a French market stall

It was hard to choose which photo of fabulous French market stalls I should share … but the capsicums won out today!

umbrella by the door

umbrella by the door

Finally I must confess that this umbrella is mine, by the door of the Yoga Barn, some years ago when the landscaping was new, and before the statue of Ganesh came to sit on the rock. I still have the umbrella, which has lasted about twenty years, and I still love the bright rainbow colours.

 

21 thoughts on “Multicoloured

  1. What lovely variety of colour and of subject matter – and thanks for introducing me to this challenge. I’m off on a search to do a post of my own. The rock face at Potato Point is a candidate, and I was already planning to photograph my favourite Warsaw flower stall this morning.

    I like your post too because it’s a kind of mini-autobiography.

  2. Love the pic of the umbrella by the door πŸ™‚ We have one too at TA. I dare the G.O. to use it to walk to the river to check the levels when it’s flooding but he refuses to indulge me πŸ˜‰

  3. Now you’re going to have to show us Ganesh beside the umbrella! Gorgeous shots Christine and thanks for the link to Chartres. We do gradually reveal a lot about ourselves to those who follow closely even if it isn’t the plan πŸ™‚

  4. Wonderfully colorful images. I love the umbrella. I see you have a link to where to get one. I think I’ll put that on my birthday list. I would like to see Ganesh, too. πŸ™‚

  5. That gorgeous umbrella might be getting some use today, Christine πŸ™‚
    Saw your comments on Debbie (Breathelighter)’s post this morning and just popped in to say glad things are going well for you and no ill affects.

  6. Stained Glass reminds me of Chartres Cathedral. I have a good artist friend, who just returned to Italy to teach a workshop before coming home, and she visited Chartres Cathedral and the labyrinth.

let's chat about this ...

