Quilting and Patchwork

Years ago I had a lot of fun with patchwork, applique and so on … or should I say sew on? scarlets quiltI sewed lots of clothes for the family, and the boys even learnt to sew, making themselves board shorts with home generated graphics that were very trendy! Although I have cleaned out the fabric collection many times, I have also had to merge fabrics from both our mothers, who were good seamstresses. My mother was very keen on embroidery too, so I inherited heaps of fabrics and threads from her. When my first two grand-children were born I made colourful quilts, with some home-dyed cottons … here is one of them! So I still have heaps of small pieces of lovely coloured fabric, waiting to be made into something useful. I started by making a play quilt for the new baby … who is yet to be born. Our local fabric shop has a tempting display, and beautiful books, so inspired by patterns I made this up.

But after making this gorgeous little quilt I could not stop. The three year old was about to turn four … she had a cot quilt, but needed a bed sized one now …. and making it I had the chance to use up lots of leftover thread, emptying reel after reel of bright colours … threads that came from her greatgrandmothers!

I gave her the quilt a few days ago … now I realise I did not photograph the finished quilt, just the little embroidery I did on the back … oh dear, have to take the camera over soon πŸ™‚ The butterfly on the back was made by my mother, something Eddy might appreciate one day.

finishing touch

finishing touch

What about you? Do you sew too? Did your family of origin sew?

25 thoughts on “Quilting and Patchwork

  1. I used to make quilts, but I gave up on that hobby about 20 years ago when my sons were born. I didn’t have time anymore, and then I never got back to it.

    Your quilts are lovely!! πŸ™‚

  2. I so relate to the fabric! I say I have a lovely fabric collection…I do, and one of these days I need to get going! You have definitely inspired me, Christine. I love your creations, and hope you will indeed share the colorful side of that beautiful quilt! And congratulations on a new baby!

    • you are so sweet sending congratulations, thank you … it is an easy business having grandchildren! I wish you luck with your fabrics Debra, it can be very satisfying to play around with colour and design, and sit with the quiet whirr of the machine while something new appears beneath your fingers πŸ™‚

  3. Your work is stunning real teasure that will be part of your family for generations. I love the idea of the bits of fabric being handed down and I’m sure they can sew! I’ve never made a quilt but used to make my own clothes and my childrens when they were little. I made my first dress for myself when I was ten, it was white cotton sprigged with tiny blue flowers πŸ™‚ For quite a few years there wasn’t a fabric shop in my town and I got out of the habit but now there are several around and I’m craving to sew again. It will have to wait for a while though, I have too many plates spinning!

    • i have made some complicated little pieces with handquilting etc … but have never made a large one … i prefer to use the machine now, and am inspired by this bright quilt i whizzed up for Eddy so quickly … i might even start another one soon, with no-one in particular in mind … hope you have time one day … but of course your beautiful crafts keep you busy now!

    • your wife sounds very skilled tom, i was never very good at it, but always enjoyed the colours and shapes … i hope you still have some of those beautiful quilts to enjoy … and that her present interests bring her as much joy πŸ™‚

  4. Your quilts are precious. Edwina, her sibling, and future genratrions will cherish them πŸ™‚
    Do I sew? Other than hand mending (so old fashioned I am!), no. Would I like to? Yes. I come from a long line of sewers. Dad’s mum’s family – the Buttons – were tailors and seamstresses (Aunt Emma), as was my mother. Dad is an acomplished sewer, and made costumes and did my sewing homework when I was a kid. I could never get the hang of sewing – my first husband gave me a 22nd birthday gift of a sewing machine which went ot my aunt within days, and 25 years on she still has it – but it’s yet another thing on my One-Day list. I already have a mentor, the G.O.’s aunt who has a house full of fabric much of it vintage simply by virtue it’s been there for possibly more than half a century. It would be a delight for us both to spend a few hours in sewing lessons. I’m looking forward to it.

  5. Your quilts are precious. Edwina, her new siblung and future generations will cherish them πŸ™‚ I come from a long line of sewers (my Aunt Emma post) but it missed me. The G.O.’s aunt and I have a future plan to remedy that, and a houseful of vintage fabrics she has collected over the years πŸ™‚

  6. I have always wanted to learn how to quilt. Your work is just beautiful. I’d love to try. I had a friend who was going to teach me, but her husband was transferred and she moved away… 😦

  7. I made ONE baby quilt — six Trip Around The World blocks, each with a Winnie-the-Pooh figure I handpainted in each center square, bordered by inch-wide leftover fabric strips, pieced together and fitted on the diagonal. It was gorgeous, but it made me realize I have obsessive-compulsive disorder AND attention deficit disorder! πŸ™‚ I was so glad when it was done! πŸ™‚

let's chat about this ...

