tagged T: Terrifying Moments

With our walking group trekking along the Larapinta Trail, we were heading back to Alice Springs after visiting Hermansberg, when we walked through the fabulous Standley Chasm.

Standley Chasm (Angkerle) is Aboriginal Land and is bordered by the West MacDonnell National Park. A relatively short and easy drive from Alice Springs, Standley Chasm cuts through the tough quartzite to form a picturesque natural alleyway. Surging flood waters over thousands of years are responsible for this beautiful site, which is at its most impressive in the middle of a sunny day. As the light shifts across the cleft, visitors are treated to a magnificent display of colours and forms. The reliable trickle of water has ensured the survival of species from a time when Central Australia was a lusher place.

It was tremendous fun, with heart-stopping moments for some whose head for heights was just a bit faint. At times the Gorge was so narrow we had to climb through tunnels and over boulders, then descending via any means possible, from hand to hand, we continued.

With our next visit to the great outback looming, this time the Kimberley, my interest in where we have already been has reawakened. This was a wonderful highlight of the week we spent walking, yet because it was our last day I tend to overlook it. That night we were back in Alice Springs at our hotel, getting ready to fly home. This post inspired by Frizz, who is up to the letter T, and yes it was bit terrifying, tremendous and tricky, and we all felt some trepidation  (thanks to elladee for more t-words 🙂

22 thoughts on “tagged T: Terrifying Moments

  1. You are such a brave soul. I’m holding my breath just looking at your beautiful photos. I would love to have attempted this in my younger years but now I would need a safety line and parachute attached to me to attempt this. 🙂 🙂

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. It looks so beautiful. And terrifying. You are a courageous woman. 🙂 Having no head for heights or tight spaces, I’m not sure I could do it.

  3. We have a canyon like this in Oman called Snake Canyon, where many people have been killed. These kinds of places can be terrifying. By the way, reading about Alice Springs makes me think of the amazing book, A Town Like Alice by Nevil Shute. 🙂

  4. I heard myself saying Wow and then WOW and WOW as I looked at your pictures and read your story. What an incredibly challenging hike. I’m not sure I’d be able to walk through those narrow paths next to those enormous rocks. WOW! I salute you!

let's chat about this ...

