Flying

Aahhhh, the sense of freedom that comes with having a telephone and internet again …. even if the phone line sounds as though someone nearby is operating heavy machinery it is a great relief to be in touch with the outside world again. Thanks for your commiserations while we were cut off. We all value connectedness now, even our smart-phone-free kind.

flyingA few mornings ago I began to wake, and realised I was dreaming of flying. So I stayed in the dream for as long as possible. It was not a well-practised flight, rather the contrary. In a nondescript group of strangers I suddenly asked “Would you like to learn to fly?” Even as I spoke I wondered whether I could still fly anyway! No-one paid any attention to me, so I carefully leant forwards a little and levitated, all the time feeling as though I could suddenly crash back to the floor. I settled on top of a large cupboard, and noticed aΒ fewΒ people were watching with interest. So I slowly descended, still feeling the possibility of a crash. Β However my confidence was growing so I did it again, with variations, and began to encourage others. Then I saw a large opening beyond a group listening to a guest speaker, so I flew out, like Peter Pan and Wendy, and soared around the garden under the stars. My control was very rusty and I did not land where I would have liked, but it was fun, and people seemed to realise it was possible!!

When a dear friend visited me that day we looked at some cards as a way to share our ideas and happenings with each other. How wonderful to see this among the three I drew; now I just have to stay aware of opportunities to fly, to spread my wings, to take my courage and make the leap!

All interpretations welcome dear friends!

(The card, Spread Your Wings, in the Archangel Oracle cards by Doreen Virtue was painted by artist James Yale, born in the same year as me)

33 thoughts on “Flying

  1. You are emerging from a testing period that gave you a little bruise. All the same wisdom, skills, strengths and love are still there though. Go easy, there’s no rush but you can still fly, teach others and heal their broken wings.

  2. I think you have interpreted it perfectly – the dreamer knows best, and to get back up message from the cards is wonderful. I’ll be interested to see what eventuates, how you give yourself and in turn others the confidence to fly. I wonder if you already have an inkling of where you’d like to spread your wings πŸ™‚

    • that is an interesting question elladee …. it seems i had to stop teaching yoga to allow a new opening, so this quiet waiting time is like sitting on the nest, not being sure yet what is hatching … but I have a few inklings …. (isn’t that a great word?!!)

      • I know all about “quiet waiting time”, and while I’m in that space it chafes me but always in hindsight you see how that incubation period is necessary – part of every life cycle. And, yes it’s the inklings that both comfort & tantalise me πŸ™‚

  3. I suspect the flying in this case refers to allowing your spirit to be free rather than taking a package tour of popping down to the local aerodrome. Flying in the last sense brings burdens of responsibility. But your spirit can fly as high you like and wherever you want it to go – just don’t be overzealous on the controls πŸ˜‰

    ps – love the image πŸ™‚

    • a bit stop and go with the internet while they are working on the lines/junction boxes etc … but connectivity heaven compared to nothing! wishing you a bit of graceful flight too debra πŸ™‚

  4. Oh I do love this post D! I’m so glad you graduated from the cupboard to soaring around the garden under the stars. I could imagine being with you. πŸ™‚

  5. Do you feel as though you’re on the cusp of something new, Christine? I remember flying dreams as a portent of the beginning of something extraordinary in my life. I hope the same for you after this quiet time. πŸ™‚

  6. I used to have a lot of dreams in which I was levitating and if it hadn’t been for those, I think I might never have made the move from the urban environment in which I had always lived, to the rural one in which I live now.

    So yes – levitate and grow. It’s probably something in you telling you something.

    • thanks val, your comment really speaks to me, i like the words ‘levitate and grow’ …. i always aim to follow my inner knowing and i realise it communicates through dreams πŸ™‚

  7. Hello Christine,
    Thanks for sending me the link to your post. I don’t know why we haven’t met before because I see so many of my blogging buddies above me. πŸ˜€

    I don’t know what your dream means but I love that you got that Doreen Virtue card!
    When I have flying dreams, I’m not learning to fly I can already fly. Being able to fly is always effortless and as if its something that everyone does. It’s only when I wake up I realize omg I was flying again.

let's chat about this ...

