Still no internet here ….

We have had a cool rainy week, after sweltering heat and humidity the week before, the latest weather system brought violent storms and torrential rain over much of the East Coast.

raindrops on lotus

raindrops on lotus

Our phone and internet have not recovered, although today ( a whole week after reporting it) a repairman did arrive at the house to look into it. More ominously we also heard today that another neighbour was told his phone would not be restored until 14th March.

stepping stones underwater

stepping stones underwater

Winter temperatures and heavy rain prevailed this last week, even the native animals seemed to take shelter. Our dams are overflowing, and the lagoon has burst out into the sea, the cycle of life renewing itself after the recent fish kill event.

rednecked wallaby resting under trees

rednecked wallaby resting under trees

It is strange living the disconnected life; many times a day I think of someone I should phone or email, or something I would like to look up online. We can receive messages on the mobile phone, by walking down to the beach or out onto the Point, but making calls this way does not seem easy! Using the internet at the library is quite comfortable, but we tend to only reply to emails, or delete them (!!!) in desperation. The atmosphere is not conducive to browsing, reading posts, or emailing friends. So I am waiting for our home internet to be connected again, and reading lots of books in the meantime. Sorry to be out of touch with all my online community, I miss you all.

lotus bud

lotus bud

Thanks to our nearby son and his family for their wi-fi to send this post … until next time …

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “Still no internet here ….

  1. We’ve become so used to being connected… and somewhat reliant. I’m not going to indulge in a Telstra rant, it is what it is… and life does sound peaceful for you at the moment. At least you have the option of the library & your sons wifi but it isn’t the same as popping onto the internet any time and at your leisure. When I’m away from the WP community while I’m in the country, I wonder what I’m missing and when I’m back in the city I’m overwhelmed by what I’ve missed πŸ™‚

  2. Hang in there! We, at this end of the planet, are worried about winter blizzards knocking out our electricity (out here in the boonies)!
    We need to take better care of mother earth; I’m afraid that global warming and pollutants are going to be causing a lot more violent storms (and nasty weather, unfortunately) til we get things right.

  3. It’s so true. Many many times in the day the smallest thing comes up while in conversation, or reading a book, and I want to know more about the topic. A quick look on the internet and my curiosity is calmed. I would miss that more than the email! πŸ™‚

  4. I think I would have mixed feelings. On one hand, I would be very frustrated to lose the connection, but at the same time, it’s a little like being given a waiver on responsibilities that come with being Internet connected. The photos kind of tell it all…damp and a bit beleaguered? oxo

  5. Glad to hear you are okay…we are having the same problem you had with your fish…the rivers are drying up and the trout are left sranded and dying…sad

  6. It’s strange how we’ve all become so reliant on something that wasn’t around 25 years ago. We went away with friends this weekend, and were all so engrossed in our various electronic devices for most of it (it did pour with rain) – my suggestion that on our next weekend away we have an electronic-free one was met with enthusiasm, but somehow I don’t see it happening πŸ˜‰

let's chat about this ...

