Peace begins with You and Me

Most of us spend our lives trying to find peace. Peace with ourselves, peace with others, peace in the world. Other words are associated with peace; words like love, respect, acceptance, forgiveness. What are you trying to accept in yourself right now? For me it is a struggle to accept things I have done or said in the past, even though they were just the normal mistakes of growing up, or words spoken without understanding, and nothing too awful. Yet I know to find peace with myself and others I must allow the natural peace in my heart to shine through, so I continue to examine those negative memories/stories when they arise, to defuse them, to have compassion and find acceptance. By accepting ourselves we can offer others the liberating gift of acceptance too. If we can all do this our peace will become the peace of the world.

pelicans on the river

pelicans on the river

The Peace of Wild Things

When despair for the world grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,

I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought of grief.
I come into the presence of still water.

And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting with their light. For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free. – Wendell Berry

Like the poet I find great comfort in wild things, and in the blogs that share photos and stories of the natural world. I believe we can blog for peace … if you would like to join in pop over here http://everydaygurus.com/2012/12/26/wouldnt-it-be-great-if-peace-went-viral/

forpeace6

33 thoughts on “Peace begins with You and Me

  1. I love your statement “By accepting ourselves we can offer others the liberating gift of acceptance too. If we can all do this our peace will become the peace of the world.” So true and well said.

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. I wonder if peace is obtainable in this life…and is it desirable – for me lately I have just been searching to find stillness within. To stop, examine the thoughts that crowd my mind, hear them and then let them go. Not always easy but I shall keep trying.

    • way to go jo! i believe we can find peace … it is part of our essential nature … finding stillness is the same for me … that great pool of stillness is always there … it is just remembering 🙂

  3. Three days ago I was told that my sister’s cancer is terminal and that she has between four and twelve months to live. It’s so hard finding peace at a time like this. I’m sure I will learn and grow through this experience, but today it’s so hard.

    • oh jude, my thoughts are with you, heartbreaking to see a close loved sister suffering … we would almost feel better if it were us … just remember to breathe out, feel your feet in contact with the ground … let those glorious woods around bring comfort … you will be more suport to her if you stay centred and grounded … namaste, christine xx

  4. I love Wendell Berry and by coincidence, I’m crazy about pelicans! The message you’ve shared here is just so special. I really love the words, ” I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.” oxo

  5. What a beautiful post. How I love your choice of pelicans as illustration. I feel such peace, grace, harmony and collaborative spirit whenever I see them.

  6. Lovely post, and I so agree that ‘our peace will become the peace of the world’. I am delighted to have found you and your blog through the Bloggers for Peace movement. So glad you’re a part of all of us who know that world peace is a believable reality 🙂 ~Gina

let's chat about this ...

