Where are you going?

 

This morning, calm, warm and gorgeous, I heard myself saying “I am almost back to my old self” and I realised what a silly thing that was! Which old self do I want to be back to? None of course, although the feeling that caused the utterance was one of good health, which I always appreciate. So walking on the beach I saw another walker doing laps and began to think again about going back to things from the past.

I have been cleaning out the entire house, taking away loads of books, clothes and stuff that has been overwhelming us for some time. My husband believes you must keep every potentially valuable thing because it will be exactly what you need one day. So some of those things, that have been waiting for their day for a very long time, have now gone off to be recycled elsewhere. I have been looking through papers, cards, books and old treasures, and packing them up too. I feel the need to be free of the weight of the past and ready for the moment, unburdened, fresh and open.

So if I seem to be returning to things that have gone it is just an illusion, I am spiralling around, in the flow of change that is life. At times things will feel familiar and comfortable, and at other times everything will feel new and exciting. Don’t you love the way life flows!

Last night we saw a wonderful film called HOME, by Yann Arthus-Bertrand, visually stunning with beautiful aerial shots of the Earth, but delivering the message that change is happening too fast for the planet and we all need to do our bit to live sustainably and equitably. Rather than doom and gloom the final sections stress that “It is too late to be pessimistic …” and cite all the hopeful actions taking place in nations across the globe. So where are you going?

image from HOME

24 thoughts on “Where are you going?

  1. i love that … too late to be pessimistic!

    i’m beginning to look forward to de-cluttering my life once more – to think that only a few years ago my whole life was contained in one room … I miss that freedom. πŸ™‚

  2. So you’re really ‘getting back’ to your new self πŸ˜‰ I love clearing clutter but I have at times been rash and so hell bent on making various sorts of space that a few things have gone that I’ve later regretted… and I can’t even bear fond memories because it annoys me so much that I can’t think about it… it’s about finding the right balance πŸ™‚

    • love your take on it elladee, i can agree, i am getting back to my new self, having somehow in mercury retrograde been whisked away from much that i took for granted … and hoping i have found the right balance in the declutttering πŸ˜€

  3. A de-cluttered Christine πŸ™‚ this is brilliant as is the film. I’ve seen clips before so thanks for reminding me I shall try to watch all of it on you tube. Thank you my dear!

    • you will love it gilly, just enjoy the marvellous views of life from above, and there is much more good news now, as well as bad of course …. but we awake ones are all doing our best πŸ™‚

  4. Returning to the old .. I dont think we ever do … Perhaps return to a similar stage or feeling, perhaps to a good positive space .. But we do it a little differently (hopefully) each time πŸ™‚ its always good to declutter, shake of the old and make room for the new:)

    • yes jen, i agree, the idea of some ideal self is such a fiction, we never achieve it, and we are always different from day to day! thanks for your encouragement πŸ™‚

let's chat about this ...

