Moor or Less

On Wednesday last week another chick was missing … our guess is the eel is getting fat. I am relieved the remaining two continue to thrive, but perhaps it takes the eel a week to digest his meal? When there is a swirling flurry in the water the adult Dusky Moorhen screeches and pecks at the water, while hurriedly moving towards safer space.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The young are now five and a half weeks out of the nest, and the adult female has been gone for two and half weeks. Food is plentiful, but maybe I should buy an eel trap!

12 thoughts on “Moor or Less

  1. Awww..they look gorgeous! Yes, unfortunately nature has to do her part as well. It is sad but that is how life is. Stunning photos! 🙂

  2. Very cute photos. I don’t know what I would do. I would probably get an eel trap. I would definitely struggle with this. I know nature has it’s cycle but, we are conscious beings. Sometimes nature needs our help. I’m kinda sensitive when it comes to animals.

  3. I wonder if there are Moorhen chick decoys? I can see placing them in with real chicks so as to confuse or distract the eel long enough for chicks to flee. But maybe it would confuse the adult hen, too. I hope the turning point when chicks get too big to be attacked will come soon!

  4. I’m not too keen on eels but I guess they have a role to play in the eco system and I’m sure there will be more moorhens,but what’s going on with mummy hen?

let's chat about this ...

