Kangaroos and Wallabies

I thought you might like to see the marsupial wildlife for a change. These are our lawn mowers and hedge trimmers! In the mornings and evenings they gather on the grass around the house and in the orchard, looking for sweet pickings.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

In the slideshow there is a full range of Eastern Grey Kangaroos, from adults to young and a little joey still in the pouch. Just one or two Red-necked Wallabies feature here, although usually there are more around. They are more timid than the kangaroos, but easier to see than the Black Swamp Wallabies.

29 thoughts on “Kangaroos and Wallabies

  1. I love these photos! That little joey is so cute. You are really lucky to live in a place where you can see such wildlife abundant every day.

  2. I see you have to cage plants to save them from being eaten. Many people here have to do the same thing to keep the white-tailed deer away from their gardens. It’s great to see a yard full of this. I’ll bet they are fun to watch although I imagine they can also be a nuisance just like deer can be. Thanks for sharing them with us.

  3. Beautiful, Chris. Sometimes, I think that I am growing a plantation of plastic mesh rather than local plants, because our swamp wallabies are such voracious herbivores. If only they preferred the weeds to the tender shoots of my saplings!

    Great photos. πŸ™‚

    Mx

    • good to hear from you margaret …. it takes years for the plants to outgrow the wallabies but it does happen πŸ™‚ the swampies are so strong and can pull lower branches down until they break .. a bit disheartening! the red-necks seem equally interested in grazing and browsing … we must get up to see you one day!

  4. I think that we have a few of these living at our local safari park. I wouldn’t be at all surprised if we have a few farms in the UK that supply kanga steaks to our suoermarkets. πŸ™‚

    • yes, they are excellent meat … although we dont eat red meat at all … but sensibly we should be farming them instead of cloven hoofed beasts who easily destroy our thin topsoil … perhaps in the future a balance will be found between the images of cute ‘Skippy’ and the supply of healthy meat πŸ™‚

      • Oh, I think it’s the same as with the Vervets. I couldn’t believe at first how many people were surprised to learn that they come to visit us and that we can interact with them. We accept it as a given and don’t realise that for others it’s amazing. Oh, I can believe you love watching them. It’s the same with me and the monkeys..hehehe.

        We have so many wonderful places here to visit as well and I wish I could go there and post some of those photo’s as well, but because it’s more of a tourist area, they ask such high prices for admission and I refuse to pay that. I realise that people do have to make money but it really amazes me that some can go to such lengths that the locals like us can’t afford to even visit. It’s really sad.

        But what I read and see here on the Blogs make up for all these greedy people and I am so glad you visited so I can could follow your lovely blog! πŸ™‚

  5. Beautiful photos. They look so cute. I understand how animals love to eat our gardens. We have trouble here with the deer. They will eat everything if you let them πŸ™‚

let's chat about this ...

