Compassion

“It is very important to generate a good attitude, a good heart, as much as possible. From this, happiness in both the short term and the long term for both yourself and others will come.” Dalai Lama
Feeling thankful for the simple things of life, the clear air, fresh water, abundant food, our friends and family, is heart opening. Gratitude is an effective key; remembering a child’s smile, a glorious flower or a lover’s touch softens our heart, freeing our own true nature of love and compassion to flood our being.
I was feeling grateful for this life in which I miraculously became a yoga teacher, when I remembered an earlier desire to sponsor a child from my yoga earnings. So today I contacted the Asha Foundation and found a little girl who needs support. For just $31 per month her life can be changed, and those benefits will help her siblings and her mother. The Asha Foundation, (formerly Dharmik Australia) was founded by yoga teacher Mary Louise Parkinson, after she visited Nepal in 2007. Stuart and I were there too in late 2007, volunteering in an orphanage, and for a year afterwards we tried to support them, but contact with those in Nepal was too tenuous. So now we have an opportunity, and amazingly, the organisation is being run from our own local town, Moruya. Something else to be grateful for !

One thought on “Compassion

  1. Hi Christine,
    I am first to leave a message, eh? Well done. You have done a lot better than me. I started one of these last year sometime after reading another friends blog on all things foody and writing. But didn’t really get past a colour scheme. You write beautifully! I was so interested to hear about the Asha Foundation as a few years ago I noticed there was a yoga retreat centre in the Budawangs which led me on a trail to the Asha foundation site and the shop they have in Milton. I would love to talk to you about your volunteering role. And now they are in Moruya..wow..serendipity! Much love and keep up your beautiful blogs. xx

let's chat about this ...

