Walk around La Madeleine

There is large church in the centre of Place de la Madeleine, where local workers flock to sit in the sun and eat their lunch.

We slipped inside for a peek …. apparently the building underwent several changes of purpose while it was being built, but ended up a church named for Mary Magdalene.

The real purpose of our walk is to enjoy this little part of gourmet Paris. Of course sweets, cakes, macarons are easy to find, and in the most popular shops people jostle and crowd to purchase their favourites.

Window decorations are enticing, and I can imagine these shops supply just the thing for lovers and others seeking romantic gifts!

Just off the square there is La Maison du Miel, which has been in business since 1898, and boasts honeys from all over the world. We could have bought honeycomb from Hungary or New Zealand, but none from France, although of course there was a huge choice of French honeys.

Further along the street there is a famous Salon de The, a patisserie and vienoisserie. The baked goods being sold on the street did look delicious.

Here is the street looking back towards Place de la Madeleine, Rue Tronchet with shadey trees and wide footpaths. It seems wherever we are in Paris there is space and light.

Looking in the opposite direction you see Le Printemps main store, with gold and glamour to attract discerning customers.

Following a small street we found a little green square dedicated to Louis XVI, where more people sat on benches in the sun, eating salads and sandwiches.

Just over the pedestrian crosssing we found their source, and treated ourselves to a make-it-yourself salad of very fine ingredients. Stuart drew while we ate, admiring oriental dragons and their mates adorning the corner building.

Here are the female dragons … proudly busty!

You know I like lions, and a few steps further on I found a beauty

Soon we were back in gourmet territory, with caviar from Russia …

Fine teas, and suitable tea pots …

Truffles, including in pride of place a black truffle from Australia ….

We looked back on this little row of shops, thinking they represented the height of consumption and unsustainability, but somehow just a little of this extravagant fare is OK.

Next was the famous French mustard shop, Maille. I am sure most of you would have a small jar of dijon mustard made by them in your homes! Inside you could taste their many varied mustards, and I can confirm the dark one I tried with honey was very nice.

Another macaron store, and then in the midst of all that luxury and abundance, I noticed someone was camping in a closed off Metro stairway.

It is probably not the day to think of it, but perhaps in the future we will live in a more equitable world. Meanwhile I hope you enjoyed a little walk around the gourmet heart of Paris, where there are also many haute couture boutiques, and close to Place de la Concorde you can see the nightclub Maxims! Stuart did see a colourful checked jacket he quite liked, but though he should check the Op shops at home rather than going in to try it on!

You can see more walks today on Jo's site, so pop over if you would like another Monday Walk.

 

33 thoughts on “Walk around La Madeleine

  1. Bless you, Christine 🙂 I was strolling along, looking over your shoulder, and then suddenly I was part of the scene! Thank you so much! I’m still having laptop problems so it’s a little hit and miss with me this week.
    I have the impression of a rather expensive city when it comes to food. I’ll have to be on a diet 🙂
    Where are you staying?

  2. Paris, ah Paris ! What can one say but that …? The most exciting city in the world, I believe. Stringer did, too; although his favourite was Rome and mine Milan ! Doesn’t change the fact that to be in Paris is to be ALIVE !!!! I love the thought of Aussie truffles being on display there – absolutely amazing ! The day we went to Au Printemps we could actually do any shopping at all: it was PISSING down and everyone had come in to get out of the rain. 😐

  3. Gorgeous Paris morning, Christine … it is all a bit over the top and inequitable, isn’t it – but so much of the stuff is made by artisans – even Australian truffle farmers (!) (how much was it per gram, did you notice?) – and that’s a good thing, surely? 🙂

  4. It’s interesting, isn’t it, how in the middle of consumption and elegant living there are the reminders of those who have nothing. I have had the experience of a fun and frivolous day that takes on a twinge of melancholy when I see evidence of the city’s very poor and underserved. I think your wishes for a more equitable world are shared by us all. Wonderful photos of colorful pastries and cookies, Christine. I’m sure with all the walking that you’re doing you’ve been able to enjoy some treats guilt-free. Anyway, I go on the belief that when traveling there are no calories to consider. 🙂

  5. Nice one! Makes me want to go straight back there… The Madeleine is one of my earliest memories of Paris, when taken there as a child… Your post is my proustian Madeleine, as you might say… RH

    • I guess he lived in relative luxury, I saw another man on the pavement with three closed umbrellas on him, obviously ready to open if it rained…. whereas this fellow had a whole tent 🙂

  6. I love the way you people your photos, and this time I particularly enjoyed the luxurious diversity of your walk. (I’m a bit behind with my comments. Joe’s here, I’ve moved apartments briefly and my time is filled with delicious twins.)

  7. Oooh I love foodie strolls and this was a good one. I don’t think I have explored this area, so thanks for introducing it to me. I love your photos, and the details you notice (the busty dragons, the lion door handle) and the little green oasis you found. All the things I love to discover…
    Jude (from Jo’s walks)

    • great to meet you jude, I have noticed you but while travelling have so little time for the internet, we will be back in Oz in about ten days so can catch up then 🙂

      • You have liked a few of my posts – I recognise the avatar – and sorry I haven’t visited you before! Anyway you now have another follower so I don’t miss your lovely travel posts and photos 🙂

let's chat about this ...